Paint Progress: Rosita

Often, when I’m starting a new painting, I don’t usually think of my concepts, design, or color schemes. That is a bad habit I wanted to break, so for “Rosita” I thought about her color design and composition. I had a general idea of how I wanted her body to be positioned, but the finer details like what her face, eyes, and hair were going to look like were still unclear to me. I don’t often start with a sketch before any painting piece, but I’m starting to really enjoy the helpfulness of having a baby sketch done of the initial design! ʕథ౪థʔ

A fun discovery I came across when painting Rosita was that, by using a crayola marker as a sketching tool before laying on the paint, the marker tint then started to fade through the paint in some areas creating a green glow under her skin. This green glow intensified more when I added the clear gloss sealing medium, which is used to protect paintings once they are complete.

20161116_11584720161116_12043320161116_12290920161116_13013320161116_15043620161116_160345rosita

I mostly used acrylic paints to paint her, but I also had a little fun using some shimmer stickers and shimmer string as her accessories. I sign all my paintings with a silver oil based marker after sealing them with the gloss seal for protection. Rosita was a fun little experiment that opened the door for me to work with a little more mixed media type stuff, for example, I’ll probably work more with glitter, flowers, cloth and clay along with acrylics!

Thanks for visiting!

Please tell me what you think!

ʕ→ᴥ←ʔ ghostbuns

 

Leave a Reply

